The New Year Checkup

Can you guys believe it’s already been six months into 2016. It feels like no time has passed even though so much has already happened. It’s been a pretty awesome year thus far but now is not the time for reminiscing. Now is the time for analysising my New Year’s Resolutions. Onwards!

Read 50 Books

So far this is going pretty great. I’m only two books behind schedule (thanks a lot AP exams). I’ve read 20 out of 50 and I plan to reach the halfway point before the end of June, so thus far I’ve done really well.

Push myself to read outside my usual genres.

Specifically: graphic novels, non-fiction, classics, and science-fiction

I’ve done an okay-ish job with this. I’ve gotten one graphic novel and one science-fiction under my belt, one was met with more success than the other. The mini- goal for this resolution is to read either Jane Eyre or Wuthering Heights before the end of the summer.

Write more fiction- hopefully I’ll have a story that just needs to be edited

I’ve done an extremely poor job here. For reasons that will be listed in my next resolution analysis.

Write every week- even if it’s only 100 words.

Nope. Just nope. I’ve had no motivation to write anything. I did a great job the first month but it was forced. I think I made an overly ambitious goal. I want the writing that I do to be an enjoyable experience, not something that I scramble to accomplish on a Friday night. I don’t have a definite solution to this issue quite yet but I think that I am going to remove this resolution altogether, it just isn’t working for me.

Take more pictures with my friends

So far so good. I really enjoy this one, especially looking back through them and seeing the interesting and strange faces that my friends make. No changes will be made to this goal.

Workout every day

So this is another one I’ve only done okay-ish. I’ve worked out at least every week and there has definitely been an obvious decrease in my weight. And, more importantly, I feel physically stronger. I’m going to continue working towards working out every day but even though I’m not quite there, I’m pleased with the changes I’ve made thus far.

Be less judgmental

This one is a little more difficult to judge. But I do think since making this a goal, I’ve been more conscious of how I think about people and even beliefs. The current social and political controversies have made it incredibly easy to put my words into practice.


So that’s that. I think I’ve done a pretty good job so far.

What about you guys? How have you been doing with your New Year’s Resolutions?

3 thoughts on “The New Year Checkup

  1. Read Jane Eyre! It’s so good! I can’t bring myself to read outside of my usual genres, they just don’t appeal to me. I also told myself I would write more this year but I think I’m writing even less than I did in 2015. I can’t seem to get motivated either 😥 .

    Like

    1. Not even one book? Some of them are really really interesting.
      I feel so guilty for not writing more but I think I put too much pressure on myself and it just lost its appeal. I’m sorry that you’re struggling with it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well, I’ve read a few but usually, I avoid genres I don’t like. I know! I feel guilty too but pressuring myself into writing never turns out well. I hope it works out for you too.

        Like

Share your thoughts

