BookTube-A-Thon 2016 Wrap Up

Announcement: BookTube-A-Thon is officially over! I’m so happy to have been able to participate in this wondrous event. And to have read a grand total of 4 out of 7 books!

Let’s get into the statistics of it all first:

Number of books read: 4

Total Number of page reads: 1,752

Average number of pages per day:

Challenges completed
– Read a book with yellow on the cover
– Read a book you discovered through Booktube
– Read a book by one of your favorite authors
– Read and watch a book-to-movie adaptation
Self-five for reading so many pages.

At the moment, I don’t plan on doing extensive reviews on all of these novels. Thus, I’ll be giving you all a quick review of each of the books I read throughout the week.

Read a book with yellow on the cover:
I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

I’ll be honest, I was expecting to give this novel a five star because I’ve heard so many great things about it. Unfortunately, it didn’t live up to my expectations. However, this book was undoubtedly an interesting read with very developed characters who were  extremely interesting. The plot itself was riveting and I enjoyed the multiple viewpoints from both Noah and Jude. The novel was a good reminder that what your perception of an event is extremely different from the perception of someone else who was in the exact same event.

3.5 star

The Wrath & the Dawn (The Wrath & the Dawn, #1)Read a book you discovered through Booktube:
The Wrath & The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

Now this novel was pretty darn amazing. It was interesting every step of the way with a lot of shocking twists and turns. Shahrzad is intelligent and witty and opinionated without being a complete cliche. She does want to avenge her friend Shiva but she falls in love with the monster boy-king, Khalid. Khalid himself is a mystery and with every revelation he became more than just a murder. But I couldn’t give this story 5 butterflies because of the insta-love. It kinda destroyed the story for me. Shahrzad came in with so much conviction to kill the king and then she doesn’t have the desire anymore. I felt that she would have been able to overcome her infatuation for the sake of avenging her friend.

3 star

A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #2)Read a book by your favorite author:
A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

If you can’t tell  by now, Sarah J. Maas is easily one of my favorite authors. I love both of her series to bits and pieces. And this book is no exception. From my review of A Court of Thorns and Roses, the first book in the series, I didn’t particularly care for Feyre as a character. And that trend continues slightly into this book. She’s too weak for my liking. For all of the wonderful things she’s done throughout both books, I feel she should be a much stronger, more opinionated character. But she isn’t. However, I may just be expecting too much from a character who has been through so much.I did like her a bit more because I could see her coming out of her shell and being her own person which was pleasant. Overall though, this book did bring me great levels of joy and I am sure a full review will be up in the coming weeks.

4 star

Me Before You (Me Before You, #1)Read and watch a book-to-movie adaptation:
Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

This book is one of the most polarizing books I’ve read in a little while. I happened to really enjoy this book but not for the romance. In fact, I didn’t like Louisa for the majority for the novel. However, the redeeming factor to this novel is the fact that it dealt with a very difficult topic in a realistic way. My full review is coming next week.

The movie on the other hand didn’t really do it for me. I felt like all the characters were quite flat, there wasn’t much personality to any of them. Moreover, the major issue that was discussed in the novel seemed to be almost glossed over during the movie. It was talked about but it didnt seem as important as it was in the book. However, the plot matched the book quite well, often directly lifting dialogue which I thoroughly enjoyed.


Share your thoughts

