Tag: This or That Book Tag

So this cool book tag all about the your reading preferences was created by The This or That Book Tag was created Ayunda over at Tea and Paperbacks. But I was nominated by the the awesome (and pretty funny) Shruti at This is Lit. Both of these lovely ladies come highly recommended from yours truly. Seriously, go follow them. But first, let’s hop into this tag.

The Rules

  1. Mention the creator of the tag
  2. Thank the blogger who tagged you!
  3. Choose one of the options, you don’t have to tell the reasons why you chose that but you can also do them if you want to.
  4. Tag 10 other people to do this tag to spread the love!

The Questions

Reading on the couch or in the bed?

Definitely reading on the couch. I have a thing about reading upside down so I like to lay off the edge of the couch simply because my bed is really high. But to be honest, I’m more likely to be on the floor when I read.

Male main character or Female main character?

Ehm….. good question. I generally read more female main characters but I’d really love to read some good novels with male main characters. Any good recommendations out there?

Sweet Snacks Or Salty Snacks?

I’m about to sound really strange but I generally don’t eat while I’m reading unless I’m sitting down for a meal. On the few occasions that I do eat and read, I’d probably say sweet snacks- usually in the form of fruits.

Trilogies Or Quartets?

I read a lot of trilogies so I guess trilogies is the answer.

First Person POV Or Third Person POV?

Third person POV and more specifically third person omniscient where I can be in everybody’s head. Don’t get me wrong, third person limited is better than first person but third person omniscient is where it’s at.

Reading At Night Or In The Morning?

Reading in the morning. It’s quite, no one bothers me regardless of where I am because most people are too tired to function. It’s quite lovely because I’m super awake. I don’t mind reading at night but I’m usually pretty tired.

Libraries Or Bookstores?

Libraries! I love them so freaking much because I get to enjoy reading while not spending any money. But, I really enjoy owning copies of books that I’ve read so, when I have money, I definitely spend quite a bit of time at online bookstores. (Book Outlet is by far one of the best places to do some shopping for some pretty good great books.)

Books That Make You Laugh Or Books That Make You Cry?

Again, about to sound like a really strange person. I don’t cry all that often, not that I don’t like to cry, I just can’t cry like a normal human being. Characters deaths and other said things rarely ever make me feel too bad.

But I laugh at absolutely everything. I have a friend who will occasionally say the word “banana” just for the heck of hearing me die laughing. So books that make laugh is the answer to this.

Black Book Covers Or White Book Covers?

Black.

Character Driven Or Plot Driven Stories?

I’m of the view that you need to have both to have a great story. Can I say both? Is that an option? I don’t think a book with a great plot but crap characters is going to get a higher review than a book with phenomenal characters but a horrendous plot. So both, my answer is a solid both.

I nominate

Shounima @ Through the Book Portal

Cindy @ Stranger Things Have Happened

Empress @ Empire of Starlight

Stormy @ Book.Blog.Bake

Lauren @ Bookmark Lit

I realize that is only 5 out of 10, but I wanted to leave the rest of the spaces open to any of you out there who wanted to do this tag too. Just say I tagged you 😀

Thanks again to Shruti for tagging me. Go give her and Ayunda some love over on their blogs.

3 thoughts on “Tag: This or That Book Tag

  1. Yay! Shounima loves tags!
    First of all: banana 😀
    Most YA books are all lead by female leads nowadays, I can’t think of any good examples of male leads (aside from HP and PJO). I’m actually a fan of duologies because you don’t have to wait as long for books to come out. Third person omniscent is great but can be overwhelming to get used to being inside all the characters. Unless it’s done by the right author of course. Most authors can’t even write two separate POVs that actually seem like two different people.

    Like

    1. Hehehehe, banana, hehe.
      PJO is not what I’d call a good example of a YA novel with a male lead. Just sayin’…
      I agree, duologies are pretty fantastic. Although, I haven’t read very many. Any good suggestions?
      I think I’ve gotten pretty lucky and read books written in third person omniscient by really fantastic authors. But I totally get what you’re saying about the two separate POVs. Sarah J Maas does a fantastic job of writing two separate view points quite marvelously.

      Like

      1. Well, I guess PJO is considered “middle grade”. There’s always “Maze Runner”. For duologies, I would say Passenger by Alexandra Bracken and The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh (but I haven’t read the second book to either of them yet so I couldn’t tell you how the endings are). Using Sarah J. Maas as an example really doesn’t convince me since I couldn’t even get through either of her series. I do love all POVs from Six of Crows so there’s that.

        Like

Share your thoughts

