Review: The Darlings – Cristina Alger

The DarlingsTitle: The Darlings
Author: Cristina Alger
Publication Date: 24 December 2012
ISBN: 0143122754
Pages: 352
Genre: Mystery, Contemporary
Format: Paperback
Add it: Goodreads
Buy it: Amazon|Book Depository

Since he married Merrill Darling, daughter of billionaire financier Carter Darling, attorney Paul Ross has grown accustomed to all the luxuries of Park Avenue. But a tragic event is about to catapult the Darling family into the middle of a massive financial investigation and a red-hot scandal. Suddenly, Paul must decide where his loyalties really lie.

Review

I feel bad for not liking this book because it is actually really good. But I can’t really say that it captured my attention.

My problems really started quite early on when I saw the sheer number of points of views. You guys I think that just about every character had a chapter written in their point of view. I’m usually such a big fan of reading from various perspectives because I love getting to know multiple perspectives. But somehow Alger managed to have way too many and it was honestly exhausting to keep up with all of them. And I think it really hurt her ability to create great characters.

All of the characters were somewhat developed but they were all quite boring. None of them really stands out as being one way or another, except for Duncan who was awesome. I think this is because Alger had too many characters to juggle. It’s really hard to build a ton of truly different set of characters in such a short book. Something like George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire series is long enough and intricate enough to have a cast and then some of characters. The Darlings is less than half as long and the number of truly individualistic characters that Alger had to create was too many to get an honest view of them.

Now although the characters were pretty boring, the premise of the plot was interesting. I’m really interested in learning about what happens on Wall Street and how Wall Street functions. Mostly because it seems like such a mysterious place. And this novel really dealt with some of the interesting social impacts on business people by the things that happen on Wall Street. But I don’t know a crap ton about Wall Street and business which meant I was looking for some explanation from Alger which she didn’t provide. It was a bit disappointing.

Even though the premise of the plot was interesting, the plot itself wasn’t. In fact, there almost wasn’t much of a plot at all. With such a mystery on our hands, I was expecting there to be a little more focus on that part. And instead I was greeted with large amounts exposition. And all of the exposition was really convoluted because of the sheer number of characters.

BUT

I don’t feel like I’m giving this book enough credit. It wasn’t bad, it really wasn’t. There wasn’t a point where I thought “this a really crappy novel. I should stop reading it. Alger is a phenomenal writer and she has amazing potential but something about it just wasn’t my cup of tea. I may reread later and see if the problem was because I kept putting it down instead of reading it one sitting.

If you do decide to pick it up, make sure you have some time to just sit down and read. Don’t read it over a couple of weeks, you’ll forget the plot line and it won’t be as interesting.

Rating

2.5 star

Share your thoughts

