The 2017 New Year Checkup

Y’all, I had completely forgotten that we already halfway into 2017. This year feels like it’s flying and I’ve been loving it. My first year at college was absolutely wonderful, I made some really amazing friends, and so many other things. And right now, we’re going to see just how much work I’ve done towards my 2017 resolutions.

Read 50 Books

I don’t really want to talk about this goal. Like, it’s so bad that I’d rather pretend that this isn’t an actual goal of mine. We can pretend that I never said this, right? No? … Fine.

I’ve actually only read 10 books this year. *Hides in shame*

I know, I know, I should be at about 22 books (according to Goodreads). But in my defense, I have been reading a lot of comics through Line Webtoons. Most of them aren’t completed but I like to think it still counts. And I’ve gone through a ton of Wattpad stories which also aren’t counted by Goodreads but I still feel should count in my list. If we are counting these, I’ve read/ am currently reading 28 books and that’s pretty great.

Read at least 2 Classics

This is probably the one goal I’m most proud of. I finally made it through Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austin! I really didn’t enjoy it but I am glad that I read it. Now I can have actual conversations about it and I won’t feel like an idiot when I do.

I’m currently reading Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë and I’m actually having a great time with it. I hope that I’ll finish it by the end of the month, but I’m giving myself until next month for certain. And I might even get a third classic in because I have every intention of reading The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger.

Read at least 1 Book of Poetry

I haven’t actually started with this one but I think I’m going to read Teaching My Mother How to Give Birth by Warsan Shire. I’ve picked this one for several reasons, the first being that Shire has a connection to Kenya (where my family is from) and the second is that it’s short, only 37 pages. And the third is definitely because it sounds like it’s going to be about serious and thought provoking stories, rather than nature and flowers that I typically associate with poetry. I’m really looking forward to this read.  Continue reading “The 2017 New Year Checkup”

